New changes in Miami

Growing up in South Florida, I went to countless Florida Marlins games with my dad.  Every year I would make my way to about ten games a season.  I even got the chance to see World Series games in 1997 2003.  However, going to a Marlins game, it was always sad to see how poor the attendance was.  Sharing a stadium with the Miami Dolphins, the stadium was obviously built for football, and the Marlins averaged only a few thousand fans every game.  So when I heard that the franchise was building a new stadium a few years ago, I was ecstatic.  The stadium opened at the beginning of this season, and the new stadium stood right where the former Orange Bowl once stood, in a neighborhood of Miami called Little Havana. 

This summer, my dad and I got the chance to see the stadium for ourselves.  It was a weird feeling driving back to that area again, as I felt I was going to see a Miami Hurricanes game.  I was in awe as soon as I saw the new stadium.  The stadium is eye-catching from anywhere in Miami, as it is a huge ballpark from the outside.  As we took our seats down the first base line, I looked around the stadium and was very impressed.  The stadium, is cozy, seating only about 37,000 people.  The most famous part of the stadium is obviously the sculpture just to the left of straightaway center that goes off whenever a home run is hit.

The Fish were taking on the Nationals that night, who owned the best record in the National League, and who had the 19 year old phenom Bryce Harper, who is taking the majors by storm.  The Nationals took an early lead with a Ryan Zimmerman home run to take a 2-0 lead.  After the third inning, my father went and purchased us both a shrimp burger, which he had heard was the best thing to get in the stadium.  For 14 dollars, the shrimp burger was ok,  but probably the best stadium food item I’ve had besides a brat at Wrigley Field.  Down two runs early, the Marlins fought back and tied the game at two.  Later that inning, third baseman Hanley Ramirez blasted a home run to cap off a four run third inning to take a 4-2 lead.  I was very impressed by the fans as well, who were very loud and supportive.  The attendance that night was about 30,000 which is probably the largest crowd I’ve ever seen at a Marlins game(besides a World Series game).

The Marlins went on to win 5-3 and sent the hometown fans happy.  However, when we walked outside it was raining very hard.  Being it the nicest baseball stadium I’ve ever been to, I will definitely make my way to Marlins Park more often in the future.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

