The Power to Believe

“And they who have not faith to do these things, but believe in me, have power to become my sons; and inasmuch as they break not my laws thou shalt bear their infirmities.”

 

This scripture, taken from the 52nd verse and the 42nd section of the Doctrine and Covenants, struck me to my heart as I was doing my daily scripture study.  This verse perfectly describes the mentality that we, disciples of the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, must have in all doings in our life.

 

In the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, the first principle of the gospel is in fact Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. Most people who are not members of our faith, tend to believe that us Mormons worship Joseph Smith, and are not Christians, when in fact the Lord’s name is in our church’s name.

 

Faith is such a strong word, and like we’ve heard so many times before, its an action word. Having and demonstrating faith in Jesus Christ allows us to accomplish things that we cannot see with our mortal eyes, but that the Lord can see through His eternal vision.  Isn’t it interesting how the church can send out 18 year old missionaries, who don’t really know anything about the gospel, and through their faith in the Lord, can convert people through the spirit? Missionaries walk into the MTC on their first day, and their first thought is, “there is no way I can do this.” However, as time goes on, their thought turns to, “you know what, I can’t do this by myself and my own merits, but through the Man I’m representing, I can do it.”

 

Can you imagine how much we could accomplish if we had that perception through everything we did? I believe that developing faith in Christ is the single most important thing we can do in this life, because it is the foundation of everything. It is our starting point, and what keeps us going. Though I’ve made many mistakes in my life, I’ve come to understand that the greatest task we can accomplish, and the most important thing, and the most rewarding thing, is to be on the Lord’s errand. Through my trials, and the things I’ve been through and from experiencing the things I’ve seen, I know for a fact that the Lord requires our faith, for us to be truly happy.

 

All He asks of us is to believe in Him. However, it’s a lot easier said than done. I’ve been in stages of my life, where I thought I believed in Him, but really was saying that just so I could convince myself that I was.  Other times though, I truly felt that I believed in Him and His teachings, and I saw the greatest difference in my entire life.

 

His words are real, and they mean something. I’m not sure what perfect faith is, because I know I haven’t achieved it yet, but I do know what believing is. I know the power that believing brings, and what faith is, and what it can do. Faith isn’t thrown around in nearly every scripture, every church talk for no reason, its for us, for us everyday. Paul didn’t believe he could accomplish missions, but he believed in Christ, and so he did it. Joseph Smith didn’t believe that a 14 year old could be called as a prophet, but he believed in Jesus Christ, and so he did it. I didn’t believe I could serve a mission, but through time I believed in Christ, and it happened. You and I are faced with decisions everyday, and the answer lies within our ability to trust the Lord, and when we do that, we’ll find our answer, and believe him.

Leave a Reply

